Cacti

I have been allowed to enter the amazing world that is Cacti. Having been obsessed with plants for many years, I have never felt an interest for cacti. Until now, that is. I suddenly feel quite drawn to these amazingly weird looking plants (weird looking compared with the species in my vicinity), almost like they noticed me and invited me over….

IMG_3246

My very first cacti. I think it’s a Matucana madisoniorum. I got this from Bunnings, along with two Lithops and a Pleiospilos nellii.

IMG_3224 IMG_3222 IMG_3221

The Lithops (above) and Pleiospilos (right). Now hooked, I went to the markets this-morning in search of cacti.

IMG_3206IMG_3209 ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

The only cacti stall, above.

IMG_3231IMG_3225 ??????????????????????????????? IMG_3220

My new babies, above, will have a garden created for them in a sunny spot that is protected from rain by the eaves of my house. Although I do not yet know much about cacti, I know they are from arid environments, so should fill this spot quite well. I am in awe of their beauty, but as yet unsure of their i.d. They were labelled by the woman I bought them from and I think their i.d’s are correct, but if they are mis-labelled and you recognize this, please let me know! Also, there are two species which were not labelled (from a different vendor), so if you know what they are, please let me know 🙂

 

IMG_3228 IMG_3229 IMG_3240 IMG_3241

I saw this guy and had to have him. His label says Gymnocalycium horridispinum (above). I think it’s i.d is correct.

 

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

Trichocereus huascha (above).

 

IMG_3243IMG_3248

Stenocactus multicostatus (above).

 

???????????????????????????????

Cereus peruvianus ‘Monstrosus’ (above).

 

IMG_3232

Mammillaria elongata,  crest (above). It’s spines are quite yellow, but my camera does not show colour well.

 

IMG_3233

Mammillaria Patoni (above).

 

???????????????????????????????IMG_3252

Mammillaria prolifera (above), with one tiny hot-pink fruit showing.

 

IMG_3236

Mammillaria guelzowiana (above).

 

IMG_3239

This one (above) was not labelled. Is it a Dolichothele longimamma?

 

IMG_3227 IMG_3226

These I got from a different vendor. I am guessing they too are some kind of Mammillaria. Anyone?

I will look into what traditional uses they have, and post on them when I find out. Well, that’s it for now. I hope to post more regularly, but I’ll see how I go.

One thought on “Cacti

Leave a Reply

