More new cacti!!

So, I bought a couple of plants from a little old lady yesterday. She didn’t know what species they were, and I’m not sure either. They are in pretty bad shape. I’m really hoping that a cactus nerd will just stumble across my blog today and give me some advice on what these cacti are and how I can help them.

This one is my favourite. I’m hoping it will make a really nice column for my new cacti garden. It looks pretty sick, and is quite soft and spongy to the touch. It was buried at the back of a pile of old plant pots, so I think it is sun deprived and dehydrated. I don’t know what the brown splotches are. I think it may be a Trichocereus. What do you think?

IMG_3305 IMG_3309 IMG_3310 IMG_3312 IMG_3313 IMG_3307 IMG_3308 IMG_3315 IMG_3306

 

This one is pretty cool also, though it is waterlogged and was in the shade. I don’t know what species it is. Any suggestions?

IMG_3321 IMG_3324 IMG_3326 IMG_3325 IMG_3323 IMG_3322

 

These are ones I didn’t really want, but she made me take them. An Opuntia something, and what I suspect may be a Euphorb.

IMG_3317 IMG_3327 IMG_3316

 

Oh yeah, and this poor baby…

IMG_3319IMG_3320

Any help with i.d. or with how to help them back to health would be immensely appreciated!

5 thoughts on “More new cacti!!

  1. the 2nd in the grey and white post is a cereus monstruosis, it looks good but please give it a pot with a hole in the bottom and some crocks in the bottom, don’t put it in the sun now, give it a little morning or evening sun first for about a week then another week in half sun and then you can put it in the sun, the others, just cut the best parts away, let the stups dry and pot them in sandy soil with crocks in the bottom, the small new sprouts can be cut away, dry them and pot them up, be careful with the sun at the beginning ! I hope this will be of help !

  2. #1 – Looks like a Trichocereus to me, perhaps a scoplicola
    #2 – What gwenniesgarden said.
    #3 – Possibly a Cylindropuntia
    #4 – Definitely an Opuntia
    #5 – No idea

Leave a Reply

